top of page

Persuasive Techniques


The ad is based on the baby in the ultrasound, and it’s reaction to the Doritos. What stood out was the baby getting excited following the chip. The target audience I am not so sure, but would say just the average family type. I felt the emotional branding and the plain-folks techniques were used. It seems like they were trying to get you emotionally involved through the baby, and also the approach of just an average couple dealing with pregnancy. I think the ad actually had mixed results due to some comments of people taking offense to this. I noticed many thumbs up, but I don’t think it was such a hit that it made it long on any type of television advertising. I myself had never seen it until my daughter had shown it to me. I think it’s a dud in my opinion.

This ad is for mountain dew ice and is giving the impression it is cold. What stood out to me was it was always cold looking in the video. The targeted audience is generally everyone. Famous – person testimonial was the technique used. They used a famous person to promote the product. I feel the technique worked. Just the commercial itself, the actor whom I do like, and the feeling of cold makes me want a nice refreshing cold drink, therefore I would have tried it

bottom of page