top of page

Media - Local News


WEEK 6 MEDIA BLOG FORUM: TOPIC 1: NEWSPAPERS I get my local news from our local news channel KTVB. Sometimes I will read a newspaper if I am waiting at an appointment somewhere, and they have one sitting in the waiting room. I get news from word of mouth almost daily. Local news is not important to my daily life, in fact, I raised my children with no news in our home for 20 years. I only now watch the news because my husband watches it each morning before he goes to work. I can just use my best judgement on whether the news channel and newspaper are reporting the news correctly. As for the word of mouth, I am one that will look up the facts before I give it full credibility. I do not subscribe to any news sources. I am not willing to pay for news because it is not that important to me and my life, and because I feel I am just helping to contribute to negative media more than positive. If more positive things were addressed rather than negative, I might feel the need to focus more on the news. On a scale from 1 to 5, I feel I am informed around a 4. Our local city hall sends out an email each month with all the local events and happenings in our community. I get updates on my regal club app for all local movies at our theaters, and many other updates are sent through phone now. For example, AMBER alerts, local weather and news if I choose are sent right over my cell phone.

https://www.ktvb.com/ https://regalcrownclub.regmovies.com/ https://ioem.idaho.gov/Pages/Operations/WarningSystems/AMBERAlert.aspx

bottom of page